TICK, TICK…BOOM! (AFTER HOURS THEATRE)

IMG_3975Warning, I may be biased…because I knew at least 1/2 of the people involved in this production. Tick, Tick…Boom! was performed at the Hudson (one of my favorite theaters on the Row), and produced by some dear friends from UCLA. Not to mention the brilliant director is my long-time friend and once roommate, Becca Kenigsberg!

If you’re not familiar with TTB, it’s Jonathan Larson’s (of Rent fame) lesser-known work. It can read more like a song-cycle at times because it was never fully workshopped – you can google him and find out about his untimely death. It also hits home with me (and I’m sure other artists my age) because it touches on themes like “starving for your art” and pursuing your dreams vs. reality.

I love the show, I love the artistic team, so it’s hard for me to be impartial. But I’ll try! The cast and band were strong – all local LA talent and rising stars. The space was perfect for the show and the set design, minimal (which the show calls for) but effective. My only complaint is that the band was loud – so loud that many times I couldn’t hear the actors (which would have been a major problem if I wasn’t so familiar with the show). I would love to see this production get an extended run (they ran for a limited engagement – just 2 weekends!). Becca’s directing chops shine through and I can’t wait to see what else she accomplishes – she’s off to NYU soon to pursue her Master’s!

#LAThtrCouple also had a plus one for this night out – our hilarious friend Darren, who made for a nice little change to our sh0w-going routine. Favorite moment – when Hudson venue manager Mike was looking for extra chairs (the performance was oversold!) and Darren pointed to the set-piece chairs on stage and said, “two people can sit there!” That guy!

– Jerusha

Trevor: I was skeptical about the show because I suffer from Rent fatigue, but the songs were a breath of fresh air, the band was rockin’ and so was the audience!

Leave a Reply

