Amelie (Ahmanson)

Amelie - CopyAmelie is going to Broadway, but if I was in New York I would probably skip it. I might be biased though because I am such a fan of the movie. The movie is French, and I feel like one of the main characters is France, with its beautiful scenery and unique individuals. The musical does not feel French at all. No one speaks with an accent and the show feels like it could be taking place anywhere.  The score in the movie is so iconic and you only hear bits of it in the musical. In fact, the music in the show sounded all the same to me except for one or two numbers – which is not a good sign for a new musical. Phillipa Soo is a Broadway star in the making, but even she could not save this production. I suggest seeing the movie instead. You will not regret it.

-Trevor

Leave a Reply

