Good Grief (KDT)

Good Grief  at the Kirk Douglas was a little bit of a shock. I didn’t know it was about the loss of a friend. I thought it was going to be a comedy, when in reality it is a drama with comedic moments. This new work by Ngozi Anyanwu has put her on the map, so to speak, so I was curious to see what all the fuss was about.

Miss Anyanwu wrote a play that speaks to people my age. With references to Nickelodeon and dated music artists, generation Y patrons were nodding in agreement or sometimes verbally saying “yes” aloud during the show.  I thought the show overall had really nice tender moments mixed with honest humor and was wrapped up very nicely, but probably could have used a few tweaks. Some stuff was not explained, like who, for what, and why her character is writing at moments during the show. I don’t know how I feel about her starring in the show she wrote. I know some people didn’t like it.

I enjoyed the play, and I’m glad KDT (CTG) is giving new playwrights a chance for their voices to be heard. Anyanwu’s background and point of view is unique and not often seen by audiences, which I believe is essential for theatre to grow. I have a feeling we are going to see more good work from her in the future.

-Trevor

Leave a Reply

